Monday, May 28, 2012

Thoughts on TurboFire, 3 Weeks In

I really like kickboxing - it's fun, kinda dancy, but also kinda serious. I also like the coordination requirements, since I'm not the most coordinated person in the world, it makes it a little more fun. I've been following the TurboFire schedule for the past 3 weeks (and I started week 4 today), and have a few thoughts.

  1. Chalene Johnson is a shill. I know a lot of people will not like that, but it's totally true. If I hear her say that she's not paid to pimp Shakeology one more time...
  2. TurboFire is a lot of fun. I like the short interludes (where I'm told to "shake it") where I can kinda do whatever. They're short, but I can use that time to shake things out a little.
  3. TurboFire appears to work. In the last 3 weeks, I've lost about 6 pounds, and gotten through a small plateau. I also enjoy the work outs, which is a great bonus.
  4. It's super, SUPER hard to find reviews for TurboFire (or any BeachBody products) that aren't essentially paid endorsements, or from real users - just their annoying coaches. Seriously. I've read probably 30 different reviews that ended with the author sending you to an affiliate link to buy the DVD's. You won't find that here, though.
  5. TurbFire is hard on your knees if you are not able or willing to modify the moves. My right knee is still recovering from my poor form from trying Jillian Michael's 30 Day Shred, so I have to modify more than I hope I'll need to in the future, but form is so important.
So far, I'm pretty happy with it. I have a lot of gripes, but I'll save those for a while, until I've done more of the work outs. I like how the schedule is laid out, except my rest day is Sunday, instead of "Tuesday" as the schedule seems to demonstrate, so I have to do some modifications. I plan on completing TurboFire in September (it's a 20 week program), and then move into the TurboFire/Chalean Extreme schedule, which will take me into next year.

Diet-wise, I've had great days and bad days. I've found, though, that more often I can stick to my plan of eating  moderately clean. I can't do a super strict diet, but I can make incremental additions and subtractions from my previous eating style. I've had some stress at work, which is making things hard.

Overall, I'm feeling pretty good! I hope those of you who are looking to make changes to your own health are being more focused and successful than I am!

Thursday, May 10, 2012

Small Update

Today's my 6th anniversary. While I would've ordinarily been all over a fairly fatty meal, I opted for a salad. Good for me, right? Then I came home and did the TurboFire 45EZ class. I'm still puzzled where the EZ came from, though. The class took me longer than 45 minutes to complete, since I had to stop for water fairly frequently (which also raised the question of - why don't any of the participants in this class drink water? How are they surviving?).

I'll weigh myself on Sunday, to see how my week actually went. Any more frequently than that, and it seems kinda silly.

Monday, May 7, 2012

Welcome!

So, I'm trying something new. I'm trying, like many people I know, to be healthier. And it's hard, and it sucks in some ways, but the rewards will be worth the effort. What you will find here are recipes, rants, and reviews of fitness DVDs, "health foods," and so on. I make no guarantees about anything, but, hey, that's what life is all about, right?

What I've already done is pretty small in comparison to what I need to do. I've stopped drinking Coke (from one can a day to none over the course of a few weeks). That small change, coupled with working out 3 - 4 times a week for a two months resulted in a loss of approximately 20 pounds. The rest of my loss, about 15 pounds, has been from small diet modifications and continued working out.

Today was my first official day of my first Turbofire cycle. The plan is to work my way through Turbofire and then do the Turbofire/Chalean Extreme hybrid, since I have both programs. I've already decided that the stretching routine is not my favorite, so I'm already making mental modifications (is that bad? Day 1 and I'm already making changes?), but I'm excited. I'm also bummed this program costs so much.

That's all for today!